Laguindingan, Misamis Oriental — The Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC) thru the Philippine Rural Electric Service Cooperative, Inc. (PHILRECA) roll-out a one day Training –Workshop for three days on Revised Uniform Reportorial Requirements for Regions 9 and 10 ECs on March 22, 23, 24 at the Emmanuel Pelaez Training Center Function Hall, MORESCO-1 this municipality.

The ERC recently revised the rules on pass-through charges to ensure the protection of all electricity consumers and promote transparency and accountability among the distribution utilities (DUs).

With the adoption of Resolution 14 Series of 2022 or “A Resolution Adopting the Revised Rules Governing the Automatic Cost Adjustment and True-Up Mechanisms and Corresponding Confirmation Process for Distribution Utilities,” the ERC said it would enable more transparent collection of pass-through costs or charges by DUs.

 The new uniform reportorial requirement will allow more information to be available and accessible. This is the first step to the digital transformation we are undertaking in the Commission to speed up our processes and allow more predictability in regulation.

Pass-through costs are amounts collected by DUs, which include electric cooperatives and private utilities, for charges other than the distribution charge or the payment for use of the DUs facilities.

The delegates were welcome by Engr. Jovel B. Ubay-Ubay, General Manager of MORESCO-1; Atty. Janeene Depay-Colingan, PHILRECA Executive Director and General Manager; and Atty. Alexis Lumbatan, ERC Commissioner.

The first batch were participated by Corporate Planning, Technical and Finance experts from Zamboanga del Norte Electric Cooperative, Inc. (ZANECO) of Dipolog City; Zamboanga del Sur 1 Electric Cooperative, Inc. (ZAMSURECO 1) of Pagadian City; Zamboanga del Sur 2 Electric Cooperative, Inc. (ZAMSURECO 2)m of Ipil, Zamboanga Sur; Lanao del Sur Electric Cooperative, Inc. (LASURECO) of Gadongan,, Marawi City, Lanao del Sur; Misamis Occidental I Electric Cooperative, Inc. (MOELCI-1) of Calamba, Misamis Occidental; Misamis Occidental 2 Electric Cooperative, Inc. (MOELCI-2) of Bitoon, Aguada, Ozamiz City; and Lanao del Norte Electric Cooperative, Inc. (LANECO) of Tubod, Lanao del Norte.

(Newsbites: Archibald G. Pacana, CPRO, Institutional Services Department)